Customize Consent Preferences

We use cookies to help you navigate efficiently and perform certain functions. You will find detailed information about all cookies under each consent category below.

The cookies that are categorized as "Necessary" are stored on your browser as they are essential for enabling the basic functionalities of the site. ... 

Always Active

Necessary cookies are required to enable the basic features of this site, such as providing secure log-in or adjusting your consent preferences. These cookies do not store any personally identifiable data.

No cookies to display.

Functional cookies help perform certain functionalities like sharing the content of the website on social media platforms, collecting feedback, and other third-party features.

No cookies to display.

Analytical cookies are used to understand how visitors interact with the website. These cookies help provide information on metrics such as the number of visitors, bounce rate, traffic source, etc.

No cookies to display.

Performance cookies are used to understand and analyze the key performance indexes of the website which helps in delivering a better user experience for the visitors.

No cookies to display.

Advertisement cookies are used to provide visitors with customized advertisements based on the pages you visited previously and to analyze the effectiveness of the ad campaigns.

No cookies to display.

Justin Rose suffers rare rules blunder at Sentry Tournament of Champions

Justin Rose suffers rare rules blunder at Sentry Tournament of Champions


Even US Open champions aren’t immune to club-level rules mishaps.

Justin Rose revealed he hit the wrong ball during the first round of the Sentry Tournament of Champions.

It happened on the 7th hole at the Plantation Course in Hawaii which resulted in a damaging double-bogey.

You can view how Rose navigated the 7th hole through the PGA Tour’s Tourcast feature here.

The Englishman went on to card a 2-under-par 71 on Thursday to fall seven shots behind Sahith Theegala.

“First day back at work after the festive period was interesting @TheSentry I hit the wrong ball on the 7th!!” Rose posted on X/Twitter after completing his round.

Rose earned his spot in the stunning setting of Kapalua this week by winning last season’s AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-am, which was his 11th PGA Tour trophy.

Golf rule: Playing the wrong ball

The Rules of Golf state if you make a stroke at a wrong ball, you get the general penalty of two shots in stroke play.

You must correct the mistake by continuing to play the original ball by playing it as it lies or taking relief.

If you don’t correct the mistake before making a stroke to begin another hole or for the last hole of the day before returning your scorecard, you’ll be disqualified.

If you play the wrong ball in match play, you receive the general penalty which is loss of hole.

Mackenzie Hughes suffered the same fate as Rose during the 2022 Farmers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines.

Hughes chipped what he thought was his ball by the par-5 9th green on the North Course, as it was marked by a volunteer’s flag.

But it turned out to be the wrong ball, and he was assessed a two-stroke penalty which led to a double-bogey seven.

NOW READ: Do I HAVE to play from the winter tee mat?

NOW READ: My ball hit a marker on the green and went in – does it count?

As this Justin Rose Sentry rules mistake ever happened to you? Tell us on X/Twitter!

The post Justin Rose suffers rare rules blunder at Sentry Tournament of Champions appeared first on National Club Golfer.





Source link

This website aggregates and curates news articles, blog posts, and other content from a variety of external sources. While we aim to link back to the original source, this site does not own or claim ownership of any articles, posts, or other content indexed on this site. The views, opinions, and factual statements expressed in each piece of aggregated content belong solely to its respective author and publisher. We make no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or completeness of aggregated content. Visitors are advised to verify facts and claims through the original source before reuse or redistribution.