Customize Consent Preferences

We use cookies to help you navigate efficiently and perform certain functions. You will find detailed information about all cookies under each consent category below.

The cookies that are categorized as "Necessary" are stored on your browser as they are essential for enabling the basic functionalities of the site. ... 

Always Active

Necessary cookies are required to enable the basic features of this site, such as providing secure log-in or adjusting your consent preferences. These cookies do not store any personally identifiable data.

No cookies to display.

Functional cookies help perform certain functionalities like sharing the content of the website on social media platforms, collecting feedback, and other third-party features.

No cookies to display.

Analytical cookies are used to understand how visitors interact with the website. These cookies help provide information on metrics such as the number of visitors, bounce rate, traffic source, etc.

No cookies to display.

Performance cookies are used to understand and analyze the key performance indexes of the website which helps in delivering a better user experience for the visitors.

No cookies to display.

Advertisement cookies are used to provide visitors with customized advertisements based on the pages you visited previously and to analyze the effectiveness of the ad campaigns.

No cookies to display.

Kostyuk Clashes With Umpire After Opponent Lies Following Missed Call

Kostyuk Clashes With Umpire After Opponent Lies Following Missed Call


Marta Kostyuk clashed with the chair umpire over poor officiating at a crucial juncture in her first-round match in Stuttgart.

Kostyuk was embroiled in a marathon opener at the 2024 Porsche Tennis Grand Prix against former champion Laura Siegemund. The Ukrainian was playing her first match in precisely a month because of an injury setback.

The clash in Stuttgart was on a knife edge. After Kostyuk deservedly took the first set 6-3, a resurgent Siegemund did not throw in the towel and recovered from a 2-4 deficit in the second set to force a tie-break.

The German veteran dominated the ensuing breaker, winning it 7-4. Momentum was firmly with the home player, who arrived at this WTA 500 event on the back of a steering Germany to the Billie Jean King Cup Finals with victory over Brazil in Sao Paulo last week.

Siegmund fashioned a break point chance in the first game of the third set. Kostyuk did exceptionally well in finishing a low bouncing return from her opponent, who clipped the net cord. But after Siegmeund failed to retrieve the shot, the line umpire called it out.

Kostyuk challenged it, and the chair umpire was summoned to check the mark. On a second look, it was judged to be good. However, Siegemund claimed that she hit the ball, which the umpire couldn’t remember.

The umpire initially gave Kostyuk the point but changed her mind following Siegemund’s protest. Then, it was the 21-year-old’s turn to dispute the umpire’s verdict, who requested that the point be replayed, much to Kostyuk’s anger.

Kostyuk was broken once the point was replayed, but it did not heavily impact the final score because she was able to break back straight away. Both players struggled on serve, but it was the consistent Ukrainian who emerged with the win after three hours and 10 minutes.

=https://twitter.com/kostekcanu/status/1780616490992955406″ data-service=”twitter”>





Source link

This website aggregates and curates news articles, blog posts, and other content from a variety of external sources. While we aim to link back to the original source, this site does not own or claim ownership of any articles, posts, or other content indexed on this site. The views, opinions, and factual statements expressed in each piece of aggregated content belong solely to its respective author and publisher. We make no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or completeness of aggregated content. Visitors are advised to verify facts and claims through the original source before reuse or redistribution.